Cultivating great musical taste

B of the Bang – Southsea Fest will be our last ever show

bofthebang

B of the Bang are a fantastic Portsmouth band, they create beautiful melodies and addictive music, which in turn creates records that have longevity.

We first discovered them at Southsea Fest a few years ago, they were playing in one of the many venues that takes part in the day long festival. That day was spent trying to catch as many bands as possible so we didn’t get to see too much unfortunately.

Then last yet we caught the end of their set at Victorious, it was brilliant and captivating, because stage presence is another thing they can add to their list.

So it is with a great amount of pleasure that we can post an interview with Wit, who sings and plays the guitar, from the band. However, it does come with bad news.

Musical Nourishment (MN): Most famous person you’ve ever met?

Wit (W): I’ll have to go with two here. The first is Liam Gallagher who I walked straight into whilst leaving the gents toilets at an airport when I was about 18. I looked up and said ‘sorry mate’ before realising who it was and he said ‘nice one our kid’ exactly as you’d expect. I got my then girlfriend to go and get his autograph afterwards as I was too embarrassed and he glanced over, saw it was actually for me, shook his head and laughed.

The second is Peaches Geldof (RIP). The B of the Bang (TBOTB) supported The Horrors early on in their career when the frontman, Faris, was going out with her. I didn’t know who she was at the time and when he introduced me to her I misheard and thought he said her name was ‘Beatrice’. I then spent the whole evening asking ‘Beatrice’ if she was OK and whether she wanted a drink etc…as we were all together back stage. She seemed pretty annoyed with me. It was only when someone pointed it out at the end of the evening that I realised. Oh dear.

MN: If someone wrote a biography about you what would it be called and why?

W: A Lifetime of Underachieving. I’m essentially a very lazy person. So much potential, so many sofas to lay on.

MN: Tell me a secret.

W: When I was young I had a weird, rare illness called Henoch-Schönlein purpura. It was one of Hugh Laurie’s amazing diagnoses on ‘House MD’ once and I felt famous.

MN: What is the weirdest experience you’ve ever had on tour?

W: Too many to mention here without writing an essay. You constantly find yourself in bizarre situations. Naked in hotel hallways, swallowing coins, broken ribs in A&E, naked in kebab shops, waking up on a boat…all these things and many more have occurred in TBOTB…

MN: When did you first realise music is what you wanted to do and why?

W: My older brother had albums by bands like Guns n Roses and Aerosmith which I started listening to around 11 I guess. It was only upon discovering Nirvana’s In Utero that it really hit me though. We had a battered old classical acoustic guitar in the house and before I’d even learnt a chord I started writing songs. Terrible ones, mind. First year of senior school…grow long hair…start writing miserable music. Nothing’s really changed since.

MN: Anything to talk about as a band?

W: Unfortunately we are splitting up so not many plans for the future now! We’re going to play Bestival, and the Kings Theatre at Southsea Fest will be our last ever show. It will be emotional!

We’re very upset to hear the news that B of The Bang are splitting up, they’re a fantastic group and Desire Lines is one of our favourite songs. They are all exceptionally talented, so thank you for the music you have given us, it’s been fantastic!

With Bestival now over it’s not long to go until Southsea Fest. If you’ve got tickets make sure you go and watch The B of The Bang’s last show at the King’s Theatre.

What do you think?

