Cultivating great musical taste

Josh Savage – I’m doing a living room tour around the UK

joshsavage

Josh Savage is a singer songwriter from Winchester who has created a lot of traction for himself. He has been noted as one of the top ten artists to watch by the Huffington Post. He delivers folk rock songs and has two EPs, Mountains in Hurricanes and Spaces, that backs up the hype he is receiving. He started off with classical music but by the time he was 17 he had his first gig at The Talking Heads in Southampton.

Josh studied music at University of York and spent his free time gigging as part of several bands, one of which gaining a loyal following. He has since gone on to support several high profile acts and at Victorious we found him performing on the Nevada Acoustic Stage.

Musical Nourishment (MN): What would be your menu on Come Dine With Me?

Josh Savage (JS): Oooh well my favourite food is sushi but I don’t know how to make it so I’d probably make a nice curry. A chicken curry, a Rogan Josh one.

MN: Who’s the most famous person you’ve ever met?

JS: Probably Johnny Borrell from Razorlight, I supported him at a gig.

MN: Oh excellent.

JS: And then he ended up running away with a girl I was seeing at the time.

MN: Oh no – not so excellent.

JS: I’ve written a song about it.

MN: Oh really. Well it’s a good thing you weren’t here yesterday. Do you have a charity or cause that is close to your heart?

JS: Yes I do! I support a lot of things to do with special needs. I work in a special needs school part-time, so anything like that!

MN: Including musicians past and present who would be in your ultimate band?

JS: Oh my! Anyone? I, ooh I’d… That’s a really tough one I would want everyone in the band.

MN: Like Band Aid?

JS: Yeah. I’d probably have a choir in my band, I don’t know much about gospel choirs but I’d get a gospel choir. I’d also get the bassist from Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

MN: Everyone seems to choose him is there any particular reason why?

JS: I don’t know. He’s just really cool, he puts a lot into it and that’s what you need really. Drummer wise Andy Burrows because he’s from my home town and is a bit of an idol, he was the drummer for Razorlight and now he does some solo stuff. I don’t know what he can’t play as well so he can fill in other areas and I’d get the violin player from Dry The River.

MN: Excellent, nobody’s actually mentioned a violin player yet so that’s cool.

JS: I’ve got a violin player today actually I play with strings quite a lot. Did you see me play last year? I had a string trio last year.

MN: Who is the person you would most like to meet?

JS: Ben Howard, he’s one of my biggest inspirations.

MN: So is that the biggest reason why you’d want to meet him then?

JS: Yeah… actually I’d say Chris Martin actually he’s the one who got me into pop music in the first place because I was a choir boy back in the day.

MN: Really, how does it compare to now?

JS: Well quite a lot yeah! But I absolutely love his music.

MN: Do you have anything coming up you want to discuss at all?

JS: Yeah actually I have an EP in French that’s coming out in the next few months, which I’m recoding at the moment. That should be out and then I’m doing a living room tour around the UK, so if you want me to play in your living room contact me on my website joshsavagemusic.com and I’ll play in your living room, that’ll be in November.

The bilingual artist is certainly going to be busy. Fitting in a tour and possibly an EP before the year is up will certainly keep him entertained. But don’t forget what he said, if you want him playing in your living room this November you can head on over to his website and get in touch. If you’re looking forward to this new French EP make sure you follow his Facebook and Twitter accounts to stay up to date with everything.

What do you think?

