Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Dreamer by Elizaveta

I love her voice.

I’m finding it difficult to say anything more if I’m honest. There is just something about her voice, and that something is awesomeness. Usually when I find someone I listen to a few of their tracks, unless the first one is that amazing, and choose one for the blog. But this time I just wanted to hear more and more and more.

There is normally one song that sticks out enough to be put on here, occasionally there’s two from the same person, but this is the first time I’ve ever been torn by three. And I haven’t even finished listening to all her music yet. Even as I write this post I still don’t actually know which track I’m going to choose (the name of the song has yet to actually be filled in in the title field).

But I suppose I really should make a choice, so I’m writing it down here in order to choose. The three songs are Sorry, which was sent to me via email, Dreamer and Odie Et Amo, both of which I found on Spotify. One of the reasons that I’m struggling so much to choose is the fact that they are all so different and display so many different parts of her voice.

Which takes me back to the beginning. I love her voice. There is so much to it, every song she surprises me with something new. She can be dramatic and fun and beautiful with her voice. Her songs are written brilliantly and each of these songs are lyrically strong.

Sorry is a serious track with a moody undertone but a strong meaning in the lyrics and is powerfully sung. In contrast Dreamer is unbelievably addictive and catchy, it’s simple but just not easy to forget and displays the range of her voice. Meanwhile Odie Et Amo is difficult to compare as her voice reaches different levels.

But from the title you know that I’ve chosen Dreamer. It was such a difficult choice and I urge you to go and listen to the other tracks, but this one caught my heart first. From the very first syllable uttered it was clear that this was different from so many songs, and not just because of the amazing musical talent behind it. Yes the voice is fantastic, but the arrangement of the song is also great. The way it’s delivered and broken up is brilliant and addictive.

The track is broken up into easily digestible pieces, from the jagged structure of the verse that sounds a little like a train on the tracks, to the range that she takes on with her voice. She’s not afraid if those high notes and they really work for her. For some reason when she goes for those she reminds me a little of Marina Diamandis from Marina and the Diamonds, and I guess that they actually produce very similar music. Unashamedly pop with a quirky little twist.

This track stands out from the rest of her songs because it’s so different. Some of her other tracks are similar to other pop songs, whereas Dreamer, and the other two songs previously mentioned, just don’t fit in with the standard. They are different and that is why they are so good……..excuse me while I go to listen to them some more…..

3 responses

  1. Mike Newton

    Fantastic write up. I was captivated similar to you by the same thing – her magnificent voice and unique style. I highly anticipate every release. Make sure to check out Elizaveta on Soundcloud and download from iTunes. Well worth every penny and every moment of time soaking in these masterpieces.

    29/04/2014 at 12:44 pm

    • Thank you for the comment! It’s nice to find someone else who’s just as mesmerised by her. It’s unbelievable how much talent she has. Don’t worry, I fully intend to listen to everything she has and getting it as soon as possible.

      29/04/2014 at 10:13 pm

  2. Pingback: Time to Discover: Elizaveta | Musical Mish Mash

What do you think?

