Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Man in the Mirror by J2 (featuring Cameron the Public)

Now, I’m about to say something very controversial here…. I’ve never particularly liked Michael Jackson’s music. That’s not to say I don’t appreciate it, he did after all have a massive impact on the industry, I’ve just never particularly enjoyed it. But when this cover of Man in the Mirror was played on Grey’s Anatomy I was mesmerised.

J2’s version of the song is completely unrecognisable, the whole song had changed completely and the only thing that clued me in to the fact that it was Man in the Mirror was the lyrics. The different way it’s arranged and presented brings a new perspective to the track, at least it’s one that I’ve never seen before. It has a darker feel, a bit more gritty than the original  and there’s a lot of suspense created by the slower tempo.

The vocals are wonderfully delivered, there’s a power in them that builds up gradually but can always be sensed below the surface. They channel the meaning of the song and communicate it to the listener perfectly. The slowness of it puts an emphasis on the lyrics, it certainly makes me listen to them more because there is less to get caught up in.

Towards the end the power in the track bubbles through and it actually gets to the point of blowing you away and this is purely because it is slow and deliberate and it’s amazing how much strength can come from that.

I think this is a brilliant cover of the song, of course there will be people who disagree, but  it shows how amazing the original was in order for someone to take it and be able to turn it into something entirely new.

It’s a track that summons goose bumps because it is so hauntingly amazing, a cover is rarely this good. In fact I don’t think I’ve enjoyed one as much since Lacuna Coil covered Enjoy the Silence.

2 responses

  1. Love this. Heard it on Grey’s but it was nice to hear all of it. Thanks!

    29/04/2014 at 3:45 am

    • Thanks for the comment. When it came on the show I didn’t recognise is until it got to the chorus and I just thought ‘wow this is amazing!’ I’m enjoying their 80s covers at the moment. Glad you enjoyed the song.

      29/04/2014 at 10:11 pm

What do you think?

