Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: The Water by Johnny Flynn and Laura Marling

The Water by Johnny Flynn and Laura Marling is hauntingly beautiful and wonderfully simple. It’s a proper duet with two great musicians and lyrics that paint a detailed picture. Their timing is great and the steady guitar that forms the foundation of the song feels like a third voice in the track. Their voices are wonderful together and, in short, I love this song.

I haven’t heard a song this beautiful for a very long time. It comes from Johnny Flynn’s album Been Listening and happens to be my first experience with him. I found the track because I was listening to Marling’s duet with Eddie Berman on YouTube (a cover of Dancing in the Dark) and saw this song down the side. I came across it by accident, but it was a wonderful accident.

I’ve always loved Marling’s voice, but I’ve never heard it quite like this and it goes so well with Flynn’s. I could listen to their voices dancing and flirting with each other all day and night, the mixture is calming and they just compliment each other so well.

The guitar weaves the story with its strings, there’s no complexity to it. The instrument stays steady and simple and it’s from here that everything grows. The guitar kicks the song off and then Flynn and Marling begin singing together. Not only are their voices striking but so are the lyrics. They’re thought-provoking and it’s so easy to get lost in them. There’s a dreamlike quality to them which is further supported by the guitar.

While the vocals remain constant and don’t tend to vary too much the are a couple of deviations towards the end. When it gets to ‘Now the land that I knew is a dream’ they get deeper. It’s a lovely tone, the effect enhanced by the fact that they do it simultaneously. Then, in the same verse, it gets to ‘The artist has run out of paint’ and they counteract that low note with a high one that just has you marvelling at how talented these people are.

It’s four minutes of sheer musical genius and brilliance. As a result I will be listening to more of Johnny Flynn, but only after I get this song of repeat.

4 responses

  1. Thanks for the info-I am going to find this song and check it out.

    21/06/2013 at 1:33 pm

    • It’s a great track! I hope you enjoy it.

      21/06/2013 at 10:10 pm

  2. That was so pure, bringing their beautiful voices to the forefront, without any bells and whistles……(oops, except the siren at the end)
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    21/06/2013 at 3:28 pm

    • Yes! Pure is completely the right word for it. I heard the song and just knew that it had to be shared! Haha, I thought the sirens at the end had pretty good timing.

      21/06/2013 at 10:11 pm

What do you think?

