Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: The Heart of Everything by Within Temptation

While I could have yesterday’s Song of the Day as the Song of the Day for a whole week, you’d probably all get bored. So, in the interest of being interesting here’s a different track.

You all know I love these guys, they’re one of the best things to come from Holland and their music is absolutely amazing . So it’s always difficult to choose one of their songs when it comes to song of the day, but Within Temptation have such a brilliant collection of tracks that I’m spoiled for choice.

The Heart of Everything is an epic song full to the brim with everything that makes this Dutch band so truly wonderful. It has a dramatic introduction provided by the awesome guitar and Sharon den Adel jumps right in with her amazing vocals her voice is certainly their secret weapon.

The race is fast and furious and doesn’t relent, the lyrics are meaningful but in no way turns this track into a ballad and wIth the soaring and fantasy like nature of their music still intact this is one of their trademark songs.

It also happens to be fantastic lives it gets everyone going, the stage is alive and energetic . On the Black Symphony release it is one of the highlights because you have a choir accompanying den Adel in all the right places.

The truth is no matter which version you listen to it is always going to be awesome.

4 responses

  1. Awesome performance! I’m more of a Nightwish fan, but I appreciate any band who has an amazing female lead singer who can get the crowd going with her energy and voice.

    15/12/2012 at 1:43 am

    • I love Nightwish too, need to see them live. Last I heard though, they had seperated from Anette Olzon.

      I find it difficult to choose between the bands, I think it often depends on my mood.

      15/12/2012 at 10:25 am

      • WHAT!!!!? Man, this sucks! I became a fan of Nightwish because Anette Olzon; her vocals weren’t all operatic like Tarja Turunjen’s were. If they end up getting another singer like Tarja, I’m done with the band…

        15/12/2012 at 2:02 pm

        • Yeah, totally! I read that Anette was in hospital for stress related reasons and the band went ahead and played a gig with the lead singer of the support band filling in, without consulting Anette. She wasn’t exactly happy and they decided to part ways.

          I don’t think they’ll go back in the Tarja direction but I think they’re going to start getting a bad reputation for the way they treat their vocalists. It also puts into question how much longer they’ll be together.

          I hope they make it through!

          15/12/2012 at 11:16 pm

What do you think?

