Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day Everything at Once by Lenka

Hi guys!

It’s been a while. Well I plan on making my return so I already have some reviews and interviews lined up. Sorry for the long silence, I’ve been really busy and some things were neglected, Musical Nourishment being one. In hindsight maybe I should have asked if anyone was interested in contributing. Ah well, something to consider, just in case.

But let’s get to what you’re really interested in. The song!

Well, it’s another one I came across  because of an advert, I think it was  Microsft 8 one. When it first came on I thought it was the Dresden Dolls because it sounded a little like Coin Operated Boy. So I did the oligitory ‘Microsoft Office 8 advert music’ search in youtube  and discovered it was in fact Lenka with Everything at Once.

It is hugely addictive, the jerky keyboard at the beginning was its biggest hook and the fact it crops up throughout is a msssive bonus. Somehow her voice mirrors it perfectly and creates a sound that brings the circus to mind.

The lyrics are a little nonsensical, verging on ridiculous, but it all adds to the entertainment. That’s one of the main reasons I’ve selected it for song of the day.

Her voice is quite nice as well so it’s not all about the whacky. Once you get past the initial resemblance to the Dresden Dolls it’s actually quite a destinctive track.

What do you think of it?

2 responses

  1. Ik

    Sounds like Dresden dolls to me, too!

    27/02/2013 at 8:43 pm

    • Glad I’m not the only one. In the mood for some Dresden Dolls now 🙂

      04/03/2013 at 4:09 pm

What do you think?

