Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Stand By Me by Ben E. King

Indeed, Stand By Me is an old song, and one that you might not expect to see me post. But I rediscovered it a few days ago and forgot how much I loved it.

My first memory of it was, I think, Timon singing it to Pumbaa. I’m almost certain there was a video called Around The World With Timon and Pumbaa and towards the end the meerkat sang it to the warthog and it was always my favourite part, needless to say I was very young.

But even then I loved the song and appreciated the lyrics and hearing it the other day for the first time, in what felt like an eternity, I was captivated. It’s such a beautiful piece of music and completely different from a lot you hear now.

I love the meaning and depth of emotion in the song, it’s so sincere. It’s not a blatant declaration of love or anything, just a subtle message of sorts, one of support and comfort.

It’s soothing as well, probably because it’s consistent. There are no major changes, it doesn’t go from jaunty to smooth, it’s always smooth. The lyrics are also good, they’re sweet. Ben E. King sings them perfectly and I think this is a rare track, one that will never get old and is easy to relate to. Your surroundings don’t matter, wherever you might be you can close your eyes and be swept away (unless you’re driving or piloting any sort of vehicle).

Everything about it is so understated which makes it so great. It’s not in your face and can be background music or the sole focus of your attention.

What do you think of it?

2 responses

  1. I grew up listening to this song, and then when I saw the film, Stand by Me, I loved it even more.

    12/10/2012 at 7:18 pm

    • I think this has to be one of my top ten songs. It’s a good one to grow up with.

      12/10/2012 at 10:09 pm

What do you think?

