Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Comptine d’un autre ete : L’apres midi by Yaan Tiersen

 

God I love this piece of music. Whenever it’s on I have to stop whatever I’m doing and listen, I have to give it my full attention. It’s the sort of music that begs you to close your eyes so you can listen to it more closely.

It is part of the soundtrack of the film Amelie. It took me years to watch the film. I remember in school there was a massive poster of the film at the back of my french classroom, it loomed down on the entire back row and freaked people out a little bit. Then in college a friend introduced me to this piece of music in the middle of media class and it promptly found its way into my favourites on Youtube.

Anyway, it was only a couple of years ago that I actually saw the film and loved it and when I found out this music was from it, it reignited my love for the music.

The reason I love it is because it’s on piano. There’s just something about the piano that can make music sound so simple but so complex. It sounds beautiful and I think the piano is the perfect instrument to convey emotion. It can sound hopefully and melancholy, it can sound happy and joyous and the thing with this pieces is that it doesn’t really sound like any of it. It hovers between and has almost made up a whole new emotion of its own.

The music takes you on this wonderful journey and you don’t need to have seen the film to love it. The hairs on my arms and the back of neck stand on end whenever I hear it. It’s exciting and is perfect fuel for your imagination. It’s both fast-paced and slow.

It’s a masterful piece of music.

 

What do you think?

