Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: They by Jem

I was actually going to choose another song, but I got halfway through it and realised I had already used it as my song of the day. But thankfully this one popped into my head.

They by Jem is a song that was released back when I was in senior school, at the time it was a big hit on the radio and with quite a few of my friends. Yet now, a good few years later, Jem seems to have disappeared. This might be just me being out of the loop, but if it isn’t then that’s a shame, because her album was actually quite good.

They is a catchy track full of quirky sounds and a pretty cool tune. You have the ‘ba ba da’s’ running throughout it providing a hook and then Jem’s voice is an attraction all in itself. It’s deep, not like most of the voices that you hear on the radio now, but every so often it sounds delicate.

The lyrics aren’t that great, if I’m honest. The chorus is very simple but catchy all the same. And even years later there is a soft spot in my heart for this track.

 

2 responses

  1. I haven’t heard this in years. Great tune.

    13/09/2012 at 7:40 pm

    • Same, but it sounds just as good as the first time it came out! I’m glad you liked it!

      13/09/2012 at 10:53 pm

What do you think?

