Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Viva La Vida by Coldplay

Because tonight is the closing ceremony of the London 2012 Paralympic Games and this song is awesome.

Firstly I would just like to comment on the Olympic and Paralympic Games, it has been an amazing summer of sport and I love that the ceremonies have been a celebration of music. It has been completely inspiring and I do hope the legacy set by these games continues, and I look forward to Rio in 2016.

Now, I know that Coldplay, despite being massive, have a hard time of it. People like to hate them. But may I just point out their music is actually better than Rihanna and Jay Z and they do have some good songs under their belt, such as Viva La Vida.

I have lost my voice many a time singing along to this one, it’s so fun and lively which came as a surprise since they made it big on the backs of Yellow and Fix You which, let’s be honest, can be construed as dull (this is merely a point being made, not a criticism).

But this track is like the complete opposite of everything that came from them before and is perhaps my favourite Coldplay song. It is lyrically amazing. I got the album it came from for my 17th birthday, along with Sam Sparro’s debut one, and could not stop listening to it, this one in particular.

Anyway, what do you think of it?

What do you think?

