Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: I Am Not a Robot [Starsmith 24 Carat Remix] by Marina and the Diamonds

She might be poptastic but I do love a bit of Marina. I find that her lyrics have a more sincere meaning that most artists even bother to think about. I Am Not a Robot is one of her most famous songs and, as much as I never thought I would ever say this about a song, the remix is even better!

I love the way it has been rearranged. Having the load of  ‘Guess what, I’m not a robot’ lines at the end and the rest of the track coming before it somehow, in some odd way, makes it much more relatable and emotional. I also like the way her voice has been tuned in the remix too, it goes to that extra depth.

Starsmith, in my opinion, is a genius because only a genius can take a fantastic song and make it better. This really and truly is a great track and it’s difficult to put my finger on what actually make it so great. It might be that the material used was already good, it might be the fantastic lyrics or the quirky voice, or it could be the masterful use of synths in the song.

I don’t know. But what I do know is that this has been played 1630 times on my iTunes, and that only happens for really great tracks.

What do you think?

