Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: Drive by Incubus

Okay okay. So this has a lot to do with nostalgia.

Do you guys remember that game Donkey Konga? It basically had the same premise as the dance mat except you had bongos and you had to hit and clap along according to the notes on the screen. Well my absolute favourite to play on that was William Tell Overture but Drive, by Incubus was up there too (I think it was on the second game).

I used to go round my friend’s after school and play it (because we’re awesome). Anyway, it had a whole bunch of decent tracks on there, introducing me to some amazing musicians. and nine times out of ten we ended up singing along and forgot to pay attention to the notes.

Drive is one of the ones that stuck in my mind because the vocals have a sort of nasal quality, usually that’s bad but not in this case. It adds to the tone of the song. The lyrics are smart and the tune is good. Even now, while I’m writing this post and listening to the track I have to resist the urge not to play air bongos.

It really is great and it has been way too long since I last put it on to listen.

2 responses

  1. Charlotte

    This is definitely the song that first got me into Incubus. They just released a great live album ‘HQ Live’ i highly recommend checking out. This is one of the tracks , Promises Promises: http://vevo.ly/QbMpkY

    19/08/2012 at 11:57 pm

    • It is a great song. Oh cool, thanks for the tip!

      22/08/2012 at 2:41 pm

What do you think?

