Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: It’s Time by Imagine Dragons

Well, I’m not going to lie, I found this song because of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, it’s used in the trailer for the film (which I am looking forward to because the book was awesome) and well, this song is great.

It’s so darn catchy! I know I say that about a lot of songs, but it’s especially true in the case of It’s Time by Imagine Dragons. Right from the very beginning it has that steady beat that stays throughout the track, evolving ever so slightly.Starting as hand claps then there’s the twanging noise that almost takes over.

From there the track gradually builds up. The vocals add a soaring quality, especially when it gets to the chorus and the drum is introduced, adding to that steady beat.

It just grows as a song, steadily it gets better and better. It has the repeat factor, and I know I use that a lot, but to be honest if it didn’t have the repeat factor I wouldn’t be featuring it as part of my Song of the Day.

It’s something special and makes me want to listen to all their other tracks.

2 responses

  1. I clicked on the song because of the band’s name. I never noticed the song in The Perks of Being A Wallflower movie trailer at all; I was too focused on the images in the trailer. How did you know what song was in the trailer?

    I think the song was good; the lyrics are decent and the clapping rhythm adds to them to give the song an extra kick. If the other songs featured in the movie are good, I might go see the film. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book… just not enough to want to see the film.

    19/08/2012 at 2:56 pm

    • I’ve liked The Perks of being a Wallflower page on Facebook and they posted the video the other day, so I thought I’d give it a look!

      I love the clapping rhythm, when it’s used right in a song it is really effective. I think the playlist is meant to be quite good, at least I hope so!

      19/08/2012 at 10:34 pm

What do you think?

