Cultivating great musical taste

Obsession of the Moment: Laura Marling

(Song of the Day to come this evening)

Ever since I discovered her first two albums Laura Marling has been an absolute favourite of mine. Her albums are almost impossible to get bored with.

Which means when I decided to listen to all her tracks on shuffle to get me through my daily routine I was once again hooked. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve heard her music before there’s always something new to admire.

Her lyrics are full of power, it bubbles under the surface, sometimes it goes entirely unnoticed until one day you just go ‘oh, I never noticed that before. I never appreciated that before.’ Yet it’s always there, the power is a companion as constant as her guitar.

For a full week I have had my iPod and iTunes blaring out her sweet voice, like I have so many weeks before. Where ever I go Laura is singing away in my ear, her tones and songs as familiar as the routes I walk. I absolutely cannot imagine not knowing her lyrics. They are so utterly beautiful and convey so much meaning.

So yes, at the moment Laura Marling is my obsession of the moment (musically), as she has been so many times before. She is such an amazing musician, humble as well as honest. She takes a song and turns it into a masterpiece. She is the best British folk act around at the moment (don’t get me wrong, I love Mumford and Sons but they lack something that she just has).

If you don’t understand now, you will when you hear Alas I Cannot Swim or I Speak Because I Can (her first two albums which were both nominated for the Mercury Prize). They are track after track of pure genius, because that’s what she is, musically, lyrically. She is a genius.

If you still don’t believe me and you can’t be bothered to go through each and every track then I highly recommend these:

Ghosts

Captain and the Hourglass

My Manic and I

Devil’s Spoke

Blackberry Stone

Darkness Descends

Sophia

Rest in The Bed 

You will love them, they will capture your mind and your heart and you shall be enslaved like I am, you will become a fan and you will never once regret it.

What do you think?

