Cultivating great musical taste

Say Hello to………Exlovers

Album cover of Moth

You may have read my review of their album Moth a while back, well here’s the band behind the music. Coming across as mildly eccentric and slightly introspective, these guys are always interesting to chat with.

They’re passionate about music which is all we ask for from a band, and it’s a bonus that their music is so enjoyable. Following the release of their album and a visit to Japan Musical Nourishment catches up with Exlovers vocalist Pete Scott:

How did you all meet?

Some things are best forgotten.

You’re debut album, Moth, has been a long time coming, how are you feeling now that it’s out?

Frustrated, I’ve got newer songs, I’m impatient and restless. It’s good to be working on a new album though. I don’t think I’ll release anything until it’s all done this time.

What has influenced your album?

I don’t know, I’ve been an idiot for many years and I’ve done stupid things to myself. I just get so tired of everything else so writing music is an escape from the boredom and desperation of living. I know that sounds silly and cliché, unfortunately I have no better excuse for doing what I do. I also realise that this doesn’t really answer your question. Sorry.

 Which track are you particularly proud of and how come?

Starlight. I heard it on the radio and it took a while to click that it was us, I was kind of enjoying it.

 Why did you decide to call your album Moth?

Maybe because they’re everywhere in my house. To be honest it’s a bit of a private joke, it’s a shame that I can’t really share it with anyone. It would make trouble.

For someone who hasn’t heard your music before, how would you describe it?

That’s a really difficult one, people ask me that sometimes in my day-to-day life and I can never figure it out.

 Which song would you suggest they listen to first?

I don’t know, I don’t think I’ve ever done that. I guess I’m pretty much only ever interested in the most recent song I’ve written and unfortunately I haven’t recorded it yet so for the sake of the question I’ll say Unlovable.

You’re playing shows in Japan, is that somewhere you’ve always wanted to go? Why is that?

It’s somewhere I’d never thought I’d go but now that I’ve been there I miss it. It’s very beautiful.

 How is it going so far?

Up and down. Like always.

 What has been your favourite live experience?

It’s nice when we play somewhere and people sing along. That’s a lovely feeling.

How have you grown as a band since you formed?

Well I’d like to think that the music has developed. It’s not always easy getting on with each other though!

 What has been the most important lesson you’ve learnt so far?

Be humble, be kind. Don’t go climbing mountains in Iceland or you’ll get lost.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Sure, erm, uhum. Go easy and don’t listen to the cool kids. Oh and don’t take LSD. And it’s ok to be sad. Be humble and be fine. Ha. Advice giver!

If you’re interested in Exlovers don’t forget to check out Moth, you can also find them on Facebook and Twitter.

What do you think?

