Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: In and Out of Love by Armin Van Buuren Featuring Sharon Den Adel

Now, I’m not usually a fan of dance music, for no other reason than it’s just not my thing. But one day this song popped into my news feed and I had to go give it a listen. I’d not heard of Armin Van Buuren before but I had heard of Sharon Den Adel, you see, she’s the vocalist for Within Temptation who are one of my all time favourite bands.

I won’t deny that it was weird to hear her amazing voice set to energetically smooth synths of dance rather than the pounding of metal, but it was an enjoyable listen, so much so that I had to put it on again and again.

It wasn’t even just her voice that sold it to me, Van Burren did a very good job of mixing and/or producing it, whatever the dance music lingo is. But it doesn’t matter that basically the same lyrics are repeated over again, not just because Den Adel delivers them perfectly but because Van Burren has arranged it all in such away that it doesn’t get annoying, he’s pretty masterful at it.

The best testament I can give this track is that it made me look for more of his stuff and it’s made me a bit of a fan.

2 responses

  1. I’ve heard this song before and while I’m not a fan of Within Temptation, I love Sharon’s voice. It’s amazing!

    10/07/2012 at 5:55 pm

    • I love her voice, it makes me shiver sometimes!

      10/07/2012 at 9:40 pm

What do you think?

