Cultivating great musical taste

Song of the Day: The Boxer by Jerry Douglas Featuring Mumford and Sons

I came across this beautiful cover at Sutro’s Songs. I can’t even begin to say how amazing this track is. I’ve had it on repeat since hearing it for the first time. For those of you who might not know (like me when I first uncovered it) it’s a cover of the Simon and Garfunkel song The Boxer.

It’s such the quintessential folk song but anyone who listens to it is bound to fall in love. The ragged and brooding vocals are absolutely amazing and the energy of the banjo and other assorted instruments force you to tap your feet along to the beat. Go on, listen to it and try to resist, I dare you.

The lyrics are poetry (obviously that’s down to Simon and Garfunkel) and the chanting. Oh god the chanting is the best part, it tries to coax you into joining in, it gives you that feeling, you know, the one you get when you’ve just heard a perfect song perfectly performed.

I’ve been in love with Mumford and Sons for a while and this just raises them higher in my esteem, the fact that they’ve just introduced me to Jerry Douglas is a bonus.

What do you think?

